?

Log in

Married Single Life's Journal
 
[Most Recent Entries] [Calendar View] [Friends]

Below are the 3 most recent journal entries recorded in Married Single Life's LiveJournal:

Friday, October 5th, 2007
8:30 am
[kibbles]
My Intro
Hi, I'm Kibbles.

Mr. Kibbles is a union ironworker in NYC. NYC is a very expensive city. One day, Mr. and Mrs. Kibbles had to face facts. Be homeless, or live apart.

So we picked live apart. We live in Dubuque, IA now (where he grew up) with our three kids, our dog, our two kittens, our finch, and our two ferrets. He has been away for as long as nine months, and home as long as four. We aim for a weekend visit every month but sometimes things come up. Now we're just hoping for a Christmas visit.

An article in a NYC newspaper was written about us (and other families who left.)

Also not to sound like I am on the pity pot, but background on the kids.

My youngest has PDD-NOS which is related to classical autism. He is five and can't speak, and communicates very poorly. He is also mildly mentally retarded. He was able to get into a great program here though and I am thrilled -- we couldn't even get an evalutation for him in NYC.

My middle son has an educational diagnosis of Asperger's, but he gets therapy for the parts that affect him negatively and is doing well. It's not really a concern of ours.

My eldest daughter, whilst having no problems that a doctor could put on paper, is TWELVE and if any of you know twelve year old girls you can understand why sometimes she is the biggest chaos-maker in my household!

Also, we've been married 17 years and we have been living apart like this for coming up on two years. Funny though it seems as if we spend more time together NOW, as he had two jobs in NYC and was out of the house from 5am or so until as late as 11pm.
Thursday, October 4th, 2007
9:29 pm
[becka_mouse]
So here is my story to get the ball rolling, here.

My name is Becka. I've been married for three years. Most of that time I actually have not been  a married single. This actually has been something quite new in my life. After not having a job for a year, my husband  left the National guard (where he was only attending one weekend a month and two weeks in the summer) for a career in the army. He left for training September 26th. He's not returning until late January.

While he is away, it is up to me to pack, clean, pay bills, pay rent, take care of the two kids (maniac age 3 and peanut age 6 months) and other such fun.

When he returns, we have two weeks to pack and then we move to (?) where he will be away most of the time working. Its journalism but apparently it entails a lot of away hours.




Wish me luck. I'm quite new to this.  
Wednesday, October 3rd, 2007
7:42 pm
[becka_mouse]
Mod-type note
if there's an issue with a post, please comment here with a brief explanation and a link and your mods will get to it as soon as they can.    
If there is an issue, comment here.   About LiveJournal.com